About PDA Honor Awards

The PDA Honor Awards were developed to recognize members who provide exceptional leadership and service to the Association. Since 1958, these awards have been bestowed on members to recognize the significant contributions they have made through their volunteer activities.

The PDA Honor Awards Committee is seeking to significantly expand the pool of volunteers nominated for these awards each year, in an effort to consider deserving individuals who have not been considered before for a PDA Honor Award.  There are eight awards for which the nominees are determined through nominations, marked below with an asterisk (*).

Honorary Membership*

PDA's most prestigious award, conferring lifetime membership benefits to the recipient. The award is given in recognition of very long service, of a very significant nature, to PDA.

Frederick Carleton Award*

This award is designated for a past Board member whose services on the Board are determined by his/her peers as worthy of high recognition. It is presented as a tribute to lifetime contributor Fred Carleton.

Gordon Personeus Award*

This Award is intended to honor a PDA member for his or her long-term activities and/or volunteer contributions that are of noteworthy or special importance and have positively impacted PDA in several areas over time. It is presented in memory of the late Gordon Personeus, past PDA President and long-time volunteer.

Michael Korczynski Award*

This Award is presented to recognize contributions to PDA’s international activities. It is named for Michael S. Korczynski in recognition of the contributions he made toward the development of PDA’s international activities.

James P. Agalloco Award

This award is presented annually to the PDA TRI faculty member who exemplifies outstanding performance in education. The selection is based on student and faculty evaluations. It is named for James P. Agalloco in honor of his work in developing the PDA education program.

Martin VanTrieste Pharmaceutical Science Award*

This award recognizes a volunteer’s outstanding contributions that have advanced the pharmaceutical sciences. It is presented in honor of past Board Member and long-time contributor Martin VanTrieste.

Edward Smith PDA Packaging Science Award*

This award was created to recognize outstanding contributions to Pharmaceutical Packaging Science. It is presented in honor of Edward Smith and his long-term contributions to pharmaceutical packaging science.

Distinguished Service Award*

Four to six awards are typically given in recognition of volunteers' special acts, contributions, or service over the last year that have contributed to the success and strength of PDA. Examples of the types of activities that are recognized include service as members and leaders of PDA Program Planning committees, Task Forces, Interest Groups, and Chapters.

PDA Outstanding Early Career Professional Award*

This award is given in recognition of special volunteer acts contributing to the success and strength of PDA by an Early Career Professional.

Frederick Simon Award

This award is presented annually for the best paper published in the PDA Journal.  It is named in honor of the late Frederick D. Simon, a previous PDA Director of Scientific Affairs.

PDA Letter Article of the Year Award

This reward recognizes an article written by a PDA member during the preceding year that proved popular with PDA’s audience. In addition, the Managing Editor and the Editorial Committee agrees that the article represents quality work deserving of special recognition.

Distinguished Editor/Author Award

Presented to the Editor(s) or Author(s) of the PDA/DHI co-published book voted best by readers.

PDA Europe Appreciation Award

This award is given in recognition of special volunteer acts contributing to the success and strength of PDA in Europe.

PDA Asia/Pacific Appreciation Award

This award is given in recognition of special volunteer acts, contributing to the success and strength of PDA in Asia.

PDA Chapter of the Year Award

This award is given in recognition of the outstanding chapter of the year. Outstanding chapters must be in good standing regarding operational qualifications established by PDA and are invited to nominate themselves or another chapter as the Chapter of the Year.

Service Appreciation Award

This award is given in recognition of activities performed on behalf of PDA and is awarded at the end of service of specific volunteer leadership positions, including:

  • The Board of Directors
  • Advisory Board Chairs (intended to be given after stepping down as immediate past chair but can be given earlier when service is cut short)
  • Interest Group Leaders
  • Chapter Presidents

PDA President’s Award

This Award recognizes a PDA staff member, typically excluding Senior Staff members, whose exemplary performance has contributed to PDA’s success during the previous year.